Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Family "Weasel sharks"

The Family "Weasel sharks"

This is a small family consisting of 7 species, divided in 4 genera. With the exception of the snaggletooth shark, Hemipristis elongata, which can reach a size of up to 240cm, weasel sharks are mostly small to moderate-sized animals with horizontally oriented oval eyes, internal nicitating membranes and spiraculi. Weasel sharks are close related to the requiem sharks (Carcharhinidae) and have similar features. The origin of the first dorsal fin is close to the pectoral fin bases. A precaudal pit is present. They are found in coastal tropical areas down to 100m. Their distribution is limited to the Atlantic and continental Indo-West Pacific. They feed on a variety of small fishes, crustaceans and echinoderms. They all give birth to live young (placental viviparity).

  Typical species of the family of "Weasel sharks":

Sicklefin weasel shark
No image of Sicklefin weasel shark found in the Shark Database

The Genera of the Family Weasel sharks

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/03 10:09 / Webmaster