Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Order "Ground sharks"

The Order "Ground sharks"

The order of the ground sharks consists of 8 families with more than 259 species. More than half of all known shark species are ground sharks. This order also represents the most typical sharks.
Their distinguishing features are a nicitating membrane (a flap of skin that functions as a third eye lid), 2 dorsal fins, an anal fin and five gill slits.
Most of these sharks are found in tropical and temperate waters.
Ground sharks possess all forms of reproduction such as oviparity, aplacental viviparity (ovoviviparity) and viviparity.

  Typical species of the order of "Ground sharks":

Silky shark

The Families of the "Ground sharks"
  • Catsharks (Scyliorhinidae) > more

  • Finback catsharks (Proscylliidae) > more

  • False catsharks (Pseudotriakidae) > more

  • Barbelled houndsharks (Leptochariidae) > more

  • Houndsharks (Triakidae) > more

  • Weasel sharks (Hemigaleidae) > more

  • Requiem sharks (Carcharhinidae) > more

  • Bonnethead sharks (Sphyrnidae) > more

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/04 08:29 / Webmaster