Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Order "Frilled and cow sharks"

The Order "Frilled and cow sharks"

This order is the most ancient one. It consists of 6 species (2 families and 4 genera). The most distinguishable feature is the possession of 6 or even 7 gill slits. This is considered a very primitive feature, as most modern sharks possess only 5 gill slits. Compared to sharks of other orders, frilled and cow sharks only have one dorsal fin.
These sharks have a widespread distribution and live preferably in deeper waters.
The knowledge about their biology is still fragmentary.

© SeaPicsThe 7 gill slits of the
broadnose sevengill shark
  Typical species of the order of "Frilled and cow sharks":

Bluntnose sixgill shark

The Families of the "Frilled and cow sharks"
  • Frilled sharks (Chlamydoselachidae) > more

  • Cow sharks (Hexanchidae) > more

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/04 08:29 / Webmaster