Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Order "Mackerel sharks"

The Order "Mackerel sharks"

Mackerel sharks consist of 8 families, 10 genera and 17 species. They are a rather diverse group that lack a singular distinguishing characteristic and for the identification a combination of different features is needed such as: Origin of mouth behind the eyes, conical snout, a pair of 5 gill slits, 2 dorsal fins and no nicitiating membrane. Many of the sharks possess a counter-current circulatory system. This system enables them to maintain a higher body temperature and live in colder waters. Mackerel sharks include the biggest and fastest predators like White Sharks or Makos.
Most Mackerel sharks can raise their body temperature by means of a heat exchange system (rete mirabilis).

  Typical species of the order of "Mackerel sharks":

Shortfin Mako

The Families of the "Mackerel sharks"
  • Sandtiger sharks (Odontaspididae) > more

  • Goblin sharks (Mitsukurinidae) > more

  • Crocodile sharks (Pseudocarchariidae) > more

  • Megamouth sharks (Megachasmidae) > more

  • Thresher sharks (Alopiidae) > more

  • Basking sharks (Cetorhinidae) > more

  • Mackerel sharks (Lamnidae) > more

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/04 08:29 / Webmaster