Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Order "Carpetsharks"

The Order "Carpetsharks"

This order represents a very diverse group with respect to size and shapes. It consists of 7 families and 13 genera comprising 34 species.
Carpet sharks have barbels and spiracles, holes located behind their eyes, to suck in water. This order consists of 5 families with more than 30 species. Assorted members of this group include species such as whale sharks, nurse sharks, and zebra sharks.

  Typical species of the order of "Carpetsharks":

Whale shark

The Families of the "Carpetsharks"
  • Collared carpetsharks (Parascyllidae) > more

  • Blind sharks (Brachaeluridae) > more

  • Wobbegongs (Orectolobidae) > more

  • Bamboosharks (Hemiscyllidae) > more

  • Zebra sharks (Stegostomatidae) > more

  • Nurse sharks (Ginglymostomatidae) > more

  • Whale sharks (Rhiniodontidae) > more

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/04 08:29 / Webmaster