Deutsche Seiten  
 Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
 Search   Distribution   * Phylogenetic Tree   Orders   Red List   Endangered Sharks  Sitemap  Sitemap 

 Interaktive Phylogenetic Tree of Sharks -> Order "Sawsharks"

The Order "Sawsharks"

Saw sharks (9 species) are a very unusual group that is often confused with sawfishes, which are rays. The most obvious difference between the two is that saw sharks possess barbels and the teeth, located on the prolonged snout, are different sizes. Only five species are known. One species, the sixgil sawshark (Pliotrema warrani), possesses 6 gill slits and lives on the south-eastern Cape Coast of South Africa.
Not much is known about the general biology of this order.

  Typical species of the order of "Sawsharks":

Longnose sawshark

The Family of the "Sawsharks"
  • Sawsharks (Pristiophoridae) > more

 ^  Top |  Home  Preservation  Information  Foundation  Projects  Exhibit *  Database  Galleries  Links  Shark Info 
© 2021 - 2021 Shark Foundation / Hai-Stiftung Last updated: 18/10/04 08:29 / Webmaster